Mindfulness in a State of Mindlessness

Whatever has happened to you, it has already happened. The important question is, how are you going to handle it? In other words, ‘Now what?”

–Jon Kabat Zinn, Wherever You Go There You Are

I opened a Jon Kabat Zinn book and found those lines in the first paragraph. I considered them, carefully. I put the book down. I contemplated. I accepted the significance of this axiom, that what has happened, has happened. I wrapped my head around the concept of mindfulness.

It is striking that I have moments of realization these days. Because I’m pretty scatterbrained, otherwise. In fact, I often feel like I’ve lost my mind.

My husband’s cousin sent an email letting me know that her brother had a baby. I replied gushingly, saying how happy I was for them, for their whole family. Her parents must be thrilled, I said, with all these new grandbabies. She replied, and signed off, kindly but pointedly, as the grandmother. It wasn’t husband’s cousin who wrote that email letting me know her brother had a baby; it was husband’s aunt, who was letting me know her son had a baby.

Welcome to my world, nice aunt! And, mazel tov, to you, too!

At least I didn’t say anything incriminating about the aunt when I thought I was talking to her daughter.

I completed a bunch of tasks the other morning and was feeling quietly chuffed. In the car on the way to school, though, I remarked to daughter that I had my to-go coffee mug, only I didn’t fill it with coffee before we left the house. We drove a few blocks. Also, I added, I didn’t brush my teeth.

I had five minutes before class started. I spent $1 on coffee. (It’s only $1 if you bring your own cup.) I bought mints from the vending machine.

6 thoughts on “Mindfulness in a State of Mindlessness

  1. You could have titled this one: Oops! LOL

    “Mindfulness isn’t difficult, we just need to remember to do it.”
    ― Sharon Salzberg, Real Happiness: The Power of Meditation

  2. Oh, but you had me laughing again. Congrats on getting the coffee mug out of the house! I manage to fill mine, only to leave it sitting in the garage. If we were to team up, we might actually complete a task. And now you’ve got me thinking about the widow jokes we could come up with…how many widows does it take to…?

    • I HATE when I fill it up but leave it in the house. Then I have to pay full price at the coffee house! Empty mug, empty mind.

      How many widows does it take to bring coffee to work?
      There might be a third to this one, to remember to boil the water/plug in the Mr. Coffee.

      How many widows does it take to pay a bill?
      A lot, and that will have to include one being reduced to a puddle of tears.

      • Or, how many widows does it take to pay a bill?
        None because they didn’t even notice the power had been turned off and they were sitting in the dark…
        Gosh, that might really be too bleak. We do, at least have our humor. Sometimes I wish I could sit down with you and Jean over a glass of wine and dinner…!

Leave a Reply

